Bienvenidos a Mexicó‏

April 28, 2015

Well this week flew by!! After today, only one more P day in Mexico!! Its gone by so fast! We have like 4 or 5 investigators this week, but not that I have a little bit more experience and know a little more of the language, its not too stressful. I can now teach a lesson with minimal notes. I can’t understand hardly anything when people talk normal conversation speed, but if they talk slow I can carry on a conversation about the gospel, and basic information like my name, where I’m from, and where I’m going. Ask me about anything else and i probably can get about half of the words. But, I’m trying really hard and starting tomorrow I’m going to be trying solo español, which is exactly as it sounds, only spanish, all the time. It’s going to be hard, but i know it’s what I need. I need to fully take advantage of my teachers and the immersion here. Also, my teacher challenged me to make 19 latino friends by Saturday, so like in 5 days. I’m not even sure theres that many latinos here, but thats alright. With God, all things are possible, even making friends with 19 people through a language barrier.
So our teachers are awesome and the highlight of my day is the hours of class after lunch, because our teachers make that time fly by. They are so funny and teach so well. Every time I get annoyed with the language, or i’m not getting something, my teacher sings a song about being patient. This week it was between Skinny Love by Birdy (the words are “and I told you to be patient”) And Don’t you worry, by someone I don’t know. (To which the words are “don’t you worry, don’t you worry child”) It’s just really funny to see our teachers with their thick accents singing all of these American songs. We also got a solo of Justin Bieber and Single Ladies this week, just for the fun of it. It’s the best.They truly do make the days go by even faster. Them and Elder Neuwirth, who is obnoxious and loud and hilarious. He reminds me of my brothers in how much he teases me.
So there’s this Elder that came this week who didn’t have a companion (silly church forgot to send him one 😉 So he’s with our Elders half of the time (for meals, gym, p day, and nights) and he teaches/is companions with 2 sisters the rest of the time. It’s a really interesting arrangement.
My testimony grows so much every day. As I study things I need to teach my investigators, I am learning so much more myself. And most of the time only some of the things I learn even make it into the lessons. I love having the Holy Ghost with me so strong all the time. I swear I breathe the spirit it’s so strong here. I didn’t even know it was possible to be this spiritually high. I am constantly learning and growing and being stretched beyond my capacity. I truly am not the one doing this work. The Lord is only using me to do His work.
I love you all!! Remember that the Lord loves you and I love you!! This gospel is true. This church is the only true church on the earth. The Book of Mormon is the word of God, and you can know for yourself by simply reading it and praying to know if it is true. God truly does listen to and answer your prayers, and sometimes not in the way you expect. This gospel is an eternal matter, dealing with eternal life, which is offered to all who come unto Him. Remember that the Savior of the world died for you. And he loves you incomprehensibly and irrevocably.
My favorite scripture at the moment is Matthew 19:26, because its so true. It gives me hope on hard days and perspective on good days.
Con Amor,
Hermana Haws
Leave a Reply

