Malta, Idaho

May 25, 2015
Hola!
 There wasn’t anything really interesting this week. We pretty much had appointments all week, but a lot of them ended up being cancelled or the people weren’t there. So that was a little discouraging. The Spanish is getting a little better though. For the most part, I can follow along to most conversations. I still can’t do a whole lot of participating, because I can’t speak in Spanish very well. Its amazing in lessons though, when I feel the strongly that I need to share something, or if it’s my turn to teach a certain part, through the Spirit, I can. So that’s cool.
This week we had a couple of really great lessons with some awesome investigators. They seem really interested in the gospel. One man told us he was diagnosed with cancer, which is so hard to hear, so we talked about faith and he basically said that he knew faith was important and that he needed it at this time in his life. So we talked to him a little about how to grow your faith and how faith in Jesus Christ can help us get through this life. He seems a lot more interested and open minded now, because he’s searching for something in his life, and that something is the gospel.
We also had a couple of really great lessons with a couple of other people. One said that he didn’t really know what to think about what we taught him, but that maybe little by little he would be converted to the gospel. The other man had talked with missionaries before (like most people here), but that was over 10 years ago. When we were talking about the restoration, he had a lot of questions about the nature of God and how he can know if these things are true. The fact that he had a lot of questions was a really good sign of his interest, and the Spirit was so strong in that lesson.
We’ve been focusing a lot on the Book of Mormon in our work. We have really been focusing on reading it with our investigators and making sure they understand what’s going on. With one of our investigators, we had gotten to the third chapter of 1 Nephi, and after explaining a little bit and talking about Lehi and his family, she said “I think I’m staring to get interested in this.” She has a lot of struggles in her life, and I think that if we can explain how the gospel can help her, she can find hope through her trials, even moer than she already has.
It is amazing to see the people here. The people we teach all live in such humble circumstances and have so little, but give so much. They are amazing. We go over to their houses and they offer us food and other things. They are so generous. It makes me think, if they are willing to give so much to complete strangers they let into their homes, how much more can I give. They truly are amazing people.
Well I don’t have much time, but I love you. Thanks for all your love and support and prayers. I know this church is true. I love this gospel so much. I love my Savior, and how much he has done for each of us. I love being able to have the Spirit with me. I invite you all to read the Book of Mormon. I invite you to pray to our Heavenly Father to know the truth of it. I know for myself that it is true. I know the Book of Mormon is the word of God. I know that Jesus Christ lives. I know that He suffered and died for all of our sins, all of our pains and sorrows. He truly does know everything we are going through. He loves us so very much, and wants the very best for us. All we need to do is seek Him, come unto Him. He has promised us so many blessings. He is waiting to bless us. I know God is our Heavenly Father and He loves us perfectly.
Stay amazing!
Hermana Haws.
Leave a Reply

