Missionary work is amazing!

June 15, 2015

This week was a really successful week. After last week of having a little bit of a rough week, our faith, hard work, and sore knuckles have paid off. The most exciting thing was one of our investigators accepted a baptismal date. Elia, one of our investigators, agreed to the baptism date of July 18 and to be confirmed in Malta July 19. Jesus,her husband, was a little more reluctant, and we have to work out some technicalities before he will agree, but he is really close and we should have his answer by next Saturday. This took a lot of work, and a lot of phone calls, and a lot of prayers, but I think we might finally be getting somewhere to help these people accept the fullness of the gospel in the waters of baptism. It has been a little bit stressful as well, but it will all be worth it in the end.
One other really great thing that we’ve been working on this week, in relation a little bit to Elia and Jesus, is working better with the wards and the leaders therein. In 12 week training this week, they talked a lot about working with ward leaders and members. This is something that I saw was a little bit of a weakness, so I talked to Sister Santillano about it and she felt the same way. And so we set appointments with the bishops and ward mission leaders here to coordinate our efforts to help us work more effectively to strengthen our ward. We have already met with the ward leaders in Malta first ward, and seen successes there. We have started looking for solutions to the problem of fellowshipping that we have because of the language barrier (most of our members only speak English, and all of our investigators only speak Spanish). We are hopeful in making things better so that members are involved and can have friends in the church. We have appointments set up with the other ward this week and we are hopeful that the outcome will be just as positive.
We also found a couple of great new investigators in the Raft River area, one of which has never even heard of the church(which is really rare here), but is really interested and asked a lot of questions. He has a lot of potential and we are just going to keep working with him and helping him grow his faith.
Missionary work is so amazing because you get to have a tiny look into how our Heavenly Father sees each of us. When you walk into a house of someone you’ve never met and you just love them immediately, or when you’re in that first lesson and you see the spark in their eye and realize how much potential they have, or as you pray for them, picturing them in baptismal clothes and you can’t help but want that for them so much, or the crushing devastation when they tell you they haven’t been reading, or they want to stop hearing the lessons. I can’t help but think in every one of those moments, that this is how Heavenly Father must see us, with all of our potential and all we can become. And I’m sure He feels so much sorrow when we use our agency to choose another path. He loves us so much and wants us to come back to us. He wants to hear us and talk to us. He wants us to become better than we are, better than we have been. he wants what’s very best, and he truly knows what that is for us.
Every day that I’m on my mission, I love it more and more. It’s incredibly hard and often really awkward and sooo far out of my comfort zone, but I am growing so much because of it. There’s a saying I hear a couple weeks ago and I just love it. It says “There’s no comfort in your growing zone, and there’s no growing in your comfort zone.” It’s so true. I am only growing, only getting better when I’m not comfortable, when I feel like I can’t go any further, and then I push myself just a little bit more. This week I set some goals for how to become a better missionary. And all of them are reachable, but all of them are incredibly uncomfortable. They are things that I’m not used to doing, or that I am so not comfortable doing, but I know they are right and I know that I have a lot to work on. We have been focusing on attributes of Christ in our mission for this month, and so as I learn more about my Savior and learning of Him and striving to become like Him, I am growing so much closer to my Savior. I am loving Him even more for all that He is and all that He has done for me personally, and for the world as a whole.
I truly do love my Savior Jesus Christ. I am grateful for all that he has done for me. I know that He suffered and died for us and that He rose the third day. I know that He lives. I know that this is His gospel, His work, and I am striving every day to do it in His way, guided by the Spirit. I invite you all to come unto Him, as Moroni invites in Moroni 10:32.
Con Amor,
Hermana Haws
 june 15 june 15 2

we got stranded at the church with one of the members that was driving around and decided to take some goofy pictures with the car. so this is me and sister santillano and the broken down car at the church.

Leave a Reply

