3 months…WHAT?!?!??!?!?!‏

August 17, 2015

This week was a little more well rounded than other weeks. We worked with less active members in the branch as well as taught lessons and work with investigators. We taught one of the best lessons as a companionship this week. As part of the mission commitments, we have been focusing on the priesthood a lot, and how the authority is really the thing that sets us apart, and why baptism is necessary. We explained this authority in a way that the investigator could understand, and she even got to the point where she realized why baptism was necessary and why we don’t believe in infant baptism. She almost agreed to being baptized, but she said that she was afraid. She said she doesn’t want to change her religion because her entire family is catholic and it’s all she’s ever known. But she did tell us that reading the Book of Mormon and praying has helped her to feel the Spirit even more in her life. When we met her, she had been having a lot of problems with depression, but with the help of the Lord and the Spirit that she feels when we are there, it has helped her to feel better, better than the medicine and the doctors could.
It was also a great experience to attend the temple this week. I love the peace that I feel there every time that I go. I love the Spirit of the temple. There really is nothing closer to the presence of the Lord. The opportunity to attend the temple this time allowed me yet again to refocus. It helped me to self-evaluate where I am and where I want to be, and how I can fill that gap.
One of the main things I want to focus on is being more fully consecrated to the work. I can fill all of my time visiting with people, or trying to decide where to go, but if my thoughts aren’t completely focused on the people and their needs, if they are on thoughts of home or the future or whatever else, I can’t truly be fully consecrated. I am not giving everything I am to the Lord. The commandment is to serve with all your heart, might, MIND, and strength. I want to focus my whole mind on the work. I want to be even more committed. I know that this time I have to serve the Lord 100% is short. The past 4 months have flown by. I don’t want the rest of my mission to fly by and then look back and have regrets, or wish I had done something different. I want to love every moment of my mission, in the moment. I want to love the people and truly help them in the only way I know how, through the gospel. I want to be better than I was, to learn how to be like Christ. I know that as I apply his atonement in my life, I can do that. I can change. I can be better. I have seen that change in the lives of the people we teach, just like this woman. I can see that change in others. But it is harder to see that change in me. I don’t really see how I am any different than the person I was when I left. I want that change. I know it’s a process and I know that it’s something I need to do. I see all of my weaknesses laid out in front of me every day. I see my faults in teaching, my frustrations, my pride, my flaws. It is hard to see my strengths sometimes with all of my flaws. But, the one thing that gives me strength, the courage to continue, is the scripture in Ether 12:27. If the Lord gave me these weaknesses, there was a reason for it. And if I humble myself before him, and have faith, He can make these weak things become strong. I can have comfort in the fact that He will help me to climb these obstacles. His will is so much greater than mine and I just need to remember that and submit my will to His as I try to focus in his work in every moment. As I lose myself in the service of others, I will find who it really is that the Lord wants me to be. I will be able to reach the potential that he has granted me.
Well, I have been in Idaho for THREE MONTHS!!! IT has flown by sooo fast!!!
Don’t have a lot more time. I love you all! Stay amazing!
Pictures: Tori Davis and I!!! Our district at the Temple! My companion and I.
ashley august 2 ashley august 3 ashley august
Leave a Reply

