Atonement‏

September 8, 2015

The work here is amazing. It is starting to pick up and we are starting to see a lot of potential. Yet again, the mission focus is perfect. As the past few weeks have continued to be about finding new investigators and making sure that they understand our purpose from the very first lesson, we are starting to see a lot of people that have a lot of potential and are growing closer to Christ, developing testimonies, and getting to the point where they are ready to progress and experience true conversion. As we continue to see success and the Lord’s hand in his work. I have noticed over and over again that as we as a companionship have refocused on being exactly obedient and listening to the Spirit, the Lord is truly leading us to the elect. We have continuously found people that have been prepared by the Lord. For example, we contacted one woman this week who had been meeting with the missionaries in Nevada before she moved here. She let us in and we talked for a little bit. She  told us that the reason she was investigating the church was because she was spiritually hungry. She grew up Christian, and felt that spiritually she was satisfied there, but then as she grew up she fell away from that and lost religion for a while. She then joined the Catholic church when she married her husband, but it didn’t give her the fulfillment she was looking for. She didn’t feel the Spirit there, and there were lots of things she didn’t agree with. She said that when she had been meeting with the Elders in Nevada, she took everything very seriously and she wasn’t afraid to ask them lots of questions. She also said that she had finally started to read the Book of Mormon. She said that it was interesting because it was while she was packing and getting ready to move here. She talked about how when you’re moving, you never have time to do anything, especially not for yourself, but that somehow she felt the need to read. Amidst the craziness of moving, she found the time to read. When we were meeting with her, before saying anything, she asked us when and where church is so that she could attend and see for herself.
I have received so much revelation in the past few days. Mostly just about myself and my relationship with God, but also about the area and the missionary work in general. Zone Meeting and District Meeting were so inspired and helped me so much to know how I can do better, be better to hasten the work in my area. I learned about the changes I need to make in myself to allow for the Lord to work through me. And I made lots of goals to move forward. I know that through the help of the Lord, I can accomplish these things and I will continue to see the Lord hastening the work through me. It is only through the power of he Atonement that I can make the changes necessary, or that any of us can do  anything. I am grateful for the gift repentance to be clean of sins and be better.
Leave a Reply

