Transfers‏

September 14, 2015

So……I am getting transferred! It came as a huge shock. And I cried when I found out. (that might be a bit of an exaggeration, but I did throw myself on my bed and scream in my pillow about how I don’t want to leave and then fake sobbed. I needed a moment of being a drama queen ;P ). I love Burley sooo much and the people here are so amazing. I don’t want to leave our investigators right as they start making progress. The branch here is so great too. I just love them all so much. And now I have to leave them! :,(
And yet at the same time, I’m really excited. My new companion is Hermana Teran. I’ve met her a couple of times and she seems really cool. I’m going to Gooding, but I don’t really know yet what all that covers. Also, my new area will be Spanglish, so back to teaching in English too. That probably means that there isn’t a Spanish branch there, but I don’t really know. One thing I do know is that this is just like any other call. It comes from God through one of His inspired servants. I know that my work here in Burley is done for now and that I am needed in Gooding.
Other than the news of transfers, this week was amazing! We found 9 new investigators. 9!!! (That is INSANELY high for Idaho!!) All of them were just because we decided to ask EVERYONE that was in the house if they wanted to listen to the discussions too. It was so fabulous!
Also, one of our investigators, Griselda, has been reading the Book of Mormon! She is so great! She is already in 1 Nephi chapter 3! She is finally starting to understand! And she has a testimony that it’s true. She knows that it’s the word of God. She has already been applying it to her own life too! We met with her twice this week. The first time, she hadn’t been feeling good (she has some health problems), and so we talked about how the gospel can help us and invited her to read. The second time we went by, we helped her make tortillas (I now know how to make homemade tortillas!) and then talked about the Book of Mormon again. She said she was already in chapter 3, in 3 days!! It was late, so we couldn’t do too much before we had to leave. When we were leaving, she told us that she wished we could stay so she could keep feeling the Spirit. It was so sweet!
Also, we had an investigator at church! We have this one investigator, Jose. He always causes a lot of problems in our lessons and we leave feeling like he is mad at us or doesn’t agree with anything we say. He asks ridiculous questions and overanalyzes everything, but we invited him to church and he said yes. And then he came! He wore his best slacks and a  button down shirt and stayed for all three hours!! Miracle!!
Being a missionary is fabulous! It’s the best thing I’ve ever done. I love it so much. I wish you all could see the way that this gospel changes lives. I wish you all could have these experiences with me and see how merciful the Lord really is. But the great thing is you can. You don’t have to be a full time missionary to see the gospel change lives. Kneel and pray to our Heavenly Father and watch how he will change your life. Invite someone to church or to hear the missionaries and see the gospel change their lives. Serve. Your neighbor, the person on the street, your brother or sister. It doesn’t matter who and it doesn’t have to be anything big, just serve. I love you all so much! Stay amazing!!
Les quiero,
Hermana Haws
Leave a Reply

